Make new friends, enjoy a different social life with like-minded people, discover, or rediscover, a sense of purpose and belonging.
From the evidence it is apparent that the Royal Arch was known in London, York and Dublin by the late 1730s.
In extant Lodge Minute Books of the 1750s it is clear that the Royal Arch was being worked within Craft Lodges under both the premier and the Antients Grand Lodges in England, and in Lodges under the Grand Lodges of Ireland and Scotland.
The Union of the two Grand Craft Lodges was achieved on 27 December 1813. On 18 March 1817, the Royal Arch members of both of the former Grand Lodges were summoned to a meeting at Freemasons’ Hall. The Excellent Grand and Royal Chapter were opened in one room, and the Royal Arch members of the former Antients Grand Lodge opened a Chapter in a second room.
Both groups then processed into the Grand Hall where they were greeted by the Duke of Sussex who formed them into the United Grand Chapter, addressed them on the Royal Arch, appointed Grand Officers and a Committee to provide Regulations to govern the Order.